TideIllustrated – Alabama announces permanent team captains for the 2022 season

Alabama announced this season’s permanent team captains Sunday night as edge rusher Will Anderson Jr., safety Jordan Battle and quarterback Bryce Young were selected to the honor by their peers during the team’s annual banquet. Anderson and Young were also captains on last season’s team.

The three players will now have their handprints and footprints cemented outside of Denny Chimes on Alabama’s campus.

Will Anderson Jr., junior edge rusher

Stats: 51 tackles, 17 tackles for a loss, 10 sacks, 12 quarterback hurries, one pass breakup, one interception (25 yards for a TD), one blocked kick.

Jordan Battle, senior safety

Stats: 62 tackles, two pass breakupsWhy he’s a captain: “He’s got really good work ethic. He loves the game. He loves to play. He loves to practice. He sets a good example. He’s a good leader.” — Nick Saban

Bryce Young, junior quarterback

Stats: 3,007 passing yards, 27 passing touchdowns, five interceptions, 64.1 completion%, 156.46 passer rating, 195 rushing yards, four rushing touchdowns.

Why he’s a captain: “Bryce is just such a great person. If I was a GM in a front office, no doubt, the No. 1 overall pick for me. A great guy, a team guy. It’s nothing too big for him, nothing too small for him. He doesn’t put no one over himself, and he’s always for other people.” — Alabama offensive lineman Javion Cohen

Unsung Hero Award

To the player who has made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it

—Terrion Arnold

—Isaiah Bond

—Tyler Booker

—Deontae Lawson

—Robbie Ouzts

— Eli Ricks

Outstanding Senior Scholar

To the senior with the highest GPA

— Darrian Dalcourt

— DJ Dale

— Will Reichard

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award

To the player who has demonstrated the greatest commitment and achievement in his academic endeavors during the previous year

—Chris Braswell

—James Brockermeyer

—Kool-Aid McKinstry

— Seth McLaughlin

—Jalen Milroe

—Malachi Moore

Iron Man Award

To the player(s) who have shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning program

Tyler Booker, JC Latham, Kendrick Law, Jaheim Oatis

Most Inspiring Player

To the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance (voted on by the players)

—Will Anderson

Pat Trammel Award

To a senior player whose character and contributions to the Alabama Football Team most personify the All-American youth of today and has reflected qualities of Integrity, Character, Importance of Academics and Inspirational Leadership during their time at Alabama

— DeMarcco Hellams

— Henry To’o To’o

— Byron Young

Outstanding Defensive Performer

To the player with the most tackles/points

—Jordan Battle

— Brian Branch

— DeMarcco Hellams

— Henry To’o To’o

Up-Front Award

To the outstanding lineman from each unit

— Emil Ekiyor

—Jaheim Oatis

— Tim Smith

— Tyler Steen

Defensive Achievement Award

To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit

— DJ Dale

— Kool-Aid McKinstry

— Dallas Turner

—Byron Young

Offensive Achievement Award

To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit

— Jermaine Burton

— Darrian Dalcourt

— Cameron Latu

— Jase McClellan

President’s Award

To a player from each unit who has shown perseverance in making outstanding contributions to the team’s success

— Chris Braswell

— JC Latham,

— Seth McLaughlin

— Jaylen Moody

Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus Award

A former player who has exemplified the principles, values, character and attitude that make a person successful either during a particular life experience or over a period of time

— Bob Montgomery

Special Teams Player of the Year Award

To the most valuable special teams player

— James Burnip

— Malachi Moore

— Will Reichard

— Roydell Williams

Offensive Player of the Year Award

To the most valuable offensive player

— Ja’Corey Brooks

— Jahmyr Gibbs

— Bryce Young

Defensive Player of the Year Award

To the most valuable defensive player

— Will Anderson

— Brian Branch

Most Valuable Player Award

To the overall most valuable player on the team (voted on by the players)

— Bryce Young

 Source link

Back to top button