FIFA World Cup 2022: Scenarios, bracket, standings, points table tiebreakers as Japan win eliminates Germany

We’re reaching the business end of the World Cup group stage with only two groups left on the docket for Friday. So far, France, Australia, Portugal, England, Senegal, United States, Netherlands, Argentina, Poland, Morocco, Croatia, Japan, Spain, and Brazil have booked their passage to the round of 16. Only two spots are left to claim on Friday as Group G and Group H will wrap up the group stage of the World Cup.

Looking at tiebreakers, the start is simple with the team that has the most points advancing. If two teams are level on points then it will go to their overall goal difference. If they still can’t be split, next up the team that has scored the most goals will be the side to advance. The rules will then be reapplied with only the head-to-head match between the two teams that are tied. So the point total in those matches is next followed by goal difference in head-to-head play and goals scored. If they make it the entire way through and can’t be split it finally goes to the fair play system.

Get Your Daily World Cup Fix. Sign up for our new newsletter covering the beautiful game in all its glory, including daily updates about the World Cup, here.

The fair play system will see the team with the fewest penalties in matches advance. So a team loses a point per yellow card, three points for each red card caused by a second yellow card, four points for a straight red card and if a yellow is followed by a straight red card it will count as five points. 

Listen below and follow In Soccer We Trust: A CBS Sports Soccer Podcast where your three favorite former USMNT players cover everything you could possibly want to know about the United States men’s national team during the World Cup in Qatar.

Here are the groups including all groups that have played two matches

Group A

  • Netherlands: Group Winners.
  • Senegal: Second place.
  • Ecuador: Eliminated.
  • Qatar: Eliminated.

Craving more World Cup coverage? Listen below and follow House of Champions, a daily CBS Sports soccer podcast, bringing you top-notch analysis, commentary, picks and more during the big games in Qatar.

Group B

  • England: Group Winners.
  • United States: Second place.
  • Iran: Eliminated.
  • Wales: Eliminated.

Group C

  • Argentina: Group Winners.
  • Poland: Second Place.
  • Mexico: Eliminated.
  • Saudi Arabia: Eliminated.

Group D

  • France: Group Winners.
  • Australia: Second place. 
  • Tunisia: Eliminated.
  • Denmark: Eliminated.

Group E

  • Japan: Group Winners.
  • Spain: Second place.
  • Germany: Eliminated.
  • Costa Rica: Eliminated.

Group F

  • Morocco: Group Winners.
  • Croatia: Second place. 
  • Belgium: Eliminated.
  • Canada: Eliminated.

Group G

  • Brazil: Through to the last 16, can win the group with a win or draw versus Cameroon or a Switzerland loss.
  • Switzerland: Can make the last 16 with a win or draw versus Serbia. Can win the group with a win, a Brazil loss, and making up the goal difference of three.
  • Cameroon: Can make the last 16 with a win versus Brazil and a Switzerland loss. Can also make the last 16 with a win versus Brazil by more than one goal and a draw between Switzerland and Serbia.
  • Serbia: Can make the last 16 with a win versus Switzerland and a Cameroon loss.

Group H

  • Portugal: Through to the last 16. Can win the group with a win or draw versus South Korea or a Ghana loss.
  • Ghana: Can make the last 16 with a win or draw versus Uruguay. With a draw, they will need to have a better goal difference than South Korea if they defeat Portugal.
  • South Korea: Can make the last 16 with a win versus Portugal and a Ghana loss or draw versus Uruguay.
  • Uruguay: Can make the last 16 with a win versus Ghana and a South Korea loss or draw versus Portugal. If South Korea wins along with Uruguay, it will come to tiebreakers.

 Source link

Back to top button