Music Updates

The Weeknd Named Songwriter of the Year at 2021 ASCAP Pop Music Awards

Warner Chappell Music was named publisher of the year for the 14th time since 1988. Only one publisher can beat that record: EMI has come out on top 17 times. The award to Warner Chappell recognizes the success of such songs as “Blinding Lights,” “10,000 Hours,” “Lose You to Love Me” and “Rockstar.”

Paul Williams, ASCAP chairman of the board and president; Elizabeth Matthews, CEO; and John Titta, executive vice president and chief creative officer, opened the event with a special video introduction on @ASCAP social media.

The celebration kicked off Monday (April 12) with an Instagram Live interview and performance from Phil Plested, co-writer of Lewis Capaldi’s hit ballad “Before You Go.” (Co-writers Ben Kohn and Pete “Merf” Kelleher are also ASCAP winners.)

On Wednesday (April 14) at 6:00 p.m. ET, Madison Emiko Love and Leland (Brett Leland McLaughlin), co-writers of Ava Max’s “Kings & Queens,” will take the ASCAP Instagram Live stage to tell the story behind their punchy hit (co-written by winners Desmond Child, Cirkut and Mimoza).

The social media events will also include an exclusive performance of “Die From a Broken Heart” from Maddie & Tae. The duo features Maddie Marlow, ASCAP Award-winning songwriter. (Co-writers Deric Ruttan and Jonathan Singleton are also winners).

The 2021 ASCAP Pop Music Awards recognize the songwriters and publishers behind the publisher’s most performed songs of the past year. ASCAP will premiere video acceptance speeches, virtual studio tours, stories behind the songs and more on @ASCAP social media.

Starting at 10:00 a.m. ET on Tuesday through Thursday, April 15, friends, fans and peers can tune into the festivities via @ASCAP on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook, using the hashtag #ASCAPAwards.

A complete list of winners is available on the ASCAP website.

 Source link

Back to top button
SoundCloud To Mp3